As I’ve mentioned before, it’s a great privilege to host work teams. We get to hang out with people during a week which is often very formative and impacting. There are themes that emerge when groups come – one is the overwhelming reality of life in Z3. There is a juxtaposition between feeling overwhelmed by all that needs to be done, and feeling great about what was done. People often reflect on their week and say, “we didn’t do anything.” But they did. For example, these past two teams built a house, poured 5 concrete floors, and delivered care packages to YL kids in the communities. A family of 14 now has shelter. 5 additional families won’t have to live in mud this rainy season. That’s significant.

But it feels like nothing.

I, too, live in this dynamic. The spiritual and physical needs in these communities are so great that it feels I could work and work and work and give and give and give and accomplish nothing.

Two weekends ago I had the opportunity to share at our discipleship camp. I tried to reinforce to kids that the Biblical narrative presents a people who tried and tried and tried and kept failing. Enter Christ. The cross and resurrection broke this narrative pattern and set people free. Galatians 5 says, “For it is for freedom that you have been set free.” Plain and simple.

Often the simplest of truths are the most difficult to implement. Instead of accepting the gift of freedom, we implement rules, we try to earn forgiveness, we fall into the same patterns that Christ revoked. While I’m guilty of this as well, I’ve been taken to a place where I simply can’t do anything. I can’t rely on my own strength. I take great comfort in the reality that while I can’t do anything, Christ can. Our work teams get to be a part of this story. I get to be a part of this story.

Part of our work team with the family for whom they poured a concrete floor.
A view over neighboring communities from El Recuerdo
One thought on “

  1. Hi! I stumbled across your blog as I was searching for Young Life Guatemala! I have been living and teaching middle school math in Xela. I led Young Life when I was in college, and I was wondering if you had any connections here in Xela or needed any help in Guatemala City! I hope to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

