A foot in two worlds –

This week I finished my first full week as a classroom teacher – and I loved it. What a great opportunity to teach and invest in students. I’m thankful for the positive learning environment and amazing resources we have. I’m also thankful that the job allows me to stay involved with my friends in Zone 3 – weekends and days off provide great time to keep up on relationships. Here are two stories from this week that best display what it’s like for me to have one foot in two very different worlds –

1. As an intro to our year, I taught students about SMART goals and asked them to make a few of their own. One sweet girl asked, “can I make a long term goal?” I said….sure…make 2 for school this year and then you can add your long term goal. Her long term goal – “Get accepted to Stanford, study architecture, and take over the family business.” Great goal, 7th grader!

Watch out class, she's everywhere....Joel and I had fun with the panoramic setting.
Watch out class, she’s everywhere….Joel and I had fun with the panoramic setting.

2. Saturday I hung out with Nicte. She has to do a project for school that requires baking so she came over for some lessons. As we were chatting she informed me that the police showed up in the neighborhood last week – they surrounded the communities, came in, and took away 40-50 people. Some were known to have committed crimes, others were in the wrong place at the wrong time. There isn’t a lot of information right now, so we don’t know exactly who was picked up or for what. We do know that one of our Vida Joven kids was picked up and is looking at 20 years in jail. Again, we don’t know why he was picked up, what he’s accused of, or whether or not he did it. We just know that one day his future was before him, and the next his future looked very different.

Successful morning in the kitchen - Zucchini bread, cupcakes, and chocolate chip cookies.
Successful morning in the kitchen – Zucchini bread, cupcakes, and chocolate chip cookies.

In each conversation I have to ask myself, “where am I?” and “what’s my role here?” Regardless the answer, I have one foot in two worlds and I’m at a place in my life where I need that. I’m looking forward to what these contrasting worlds will teach me and I know that there’s no place I’d rather be.

Leave a Reply

