Guate Days, Car Edition

It’s been a while since I’ve made an addition to my “Guate Days” series. It’s not because I have less, “Guate Days,” it’s just because they’ve become more normal. Well, it’s time for a new addition – centered around my car.

In the beginning of August, Joel, a friend from Chicago, and I got in a car accident. It was one of those accidents where no one got hurt but it was bad. A millisecond in any direction would have resulted in serious injury. Insurance took my car away that day – and the car disappeared into a “Guate Days” abyss.

First, it took SIX WEEKS to get fixed. The damage wasn’t that extreme, but the excuses were endless. Every week, my car was going to be finished by Friday. Every week it wasn’t.

Finally, the day arrived when my car was ready. We went to pick it up and found it in the shop with a flat tire and a dead battery. The mechanics said they couldn’t help us because those weren’t problems from the accident. Really? Thanks. So, we jumped the car and rolled to a gas station to get air in the tire. In the end, we needed a new battery too.

My FAVORITE part of my insurance experience is related to the Honda “H” on the grill of my car. The “H” was stolen at some point in the past year. Insurance actually went through the hassle of ordering a BRAND NEW grill from the US without and “H.” “You didn’t lose it in the accident.”

Hear me – I’m not complaining. We’re safe. We have a great car. We have our car back. However, I can’t help but laugh at the comical experience of getting that car back.

And, if anyone finds a brand new Honda “H” tossed on the side of the road, I’m sure it’s mine. Send it to Guate.

Happy Guate Days!

Leave a comment