Psalm 12:5

Our dear friends here in Guatemala word for an amazing organization called International Justice Mission. I first heard about IJM from my philosophy professor at Trinity and was in awe of the courageous freedom fighters who enter into the hardest, darkest places to free people from sex slavery and to advocate for child victims of sexual abuse.

I’m still in awe of those people, but I’ve come to realize that we are those people. We are all called to fight for justice in our own corner of the world.

In the Guatemalan corner of the world, the fight is difficult. A friend sent me an article entitled “Child Victims of Rape in Guatemala.” The first sentence brought me to my knees in tears – crying for justice, crying for the victims, the abused, those beautiful babies who already have their own babies.

Immediately, I thought of my IJM friends who live this reality daily. One sentence brought me to my knees, and for these brave friends this is all day every day. They see these children face to face; they face the perpetrators in court; they seek justice and love mercy. They walk humbly with Jesus.

And I’m thankful for that.

Take a minute to thank a freedom fighter in your corner of the world. If you can’t think of one, start looking – they are the people who make this world a better place and make us better people. They invite us into the beauty of living for something bigger. They seek redemption here and now.

They live into Psalm 12:5 –

The LORD replies, “I have seen violence done to the helpless, and I have heard the groans of the poor. Now I will rise up to rescue them, as they have longed for me to do.

Leave a Reply

